Aruba is an island in the southern Caribbean Sea, located about 1,600 kilometres west of the Lesser Antilles and 29 kilometres north of the coast of Venezuela. It is 32 km. long from its northwestern to its southeastern end and 10 kilometres across at its widest point. Together with Bonaire and Curaçao, Aruba forms a group referred to as the ABC islands. Collectively, Aruba and the other Dutch islands in the Caribbean are often called the Netherlands Antilles or the Dutch Caribbean. Aruba is one of the four constituent countries that form the Kingdom of the Netherlands, along with the Netherlands, Curaçao and Sint Maarten. The citizens of these countries all share a single nationality: Dutch. Aruba has no administrative subdivisions, but, for census purposes, is divided into eight regions. Its capital is Oranjestad. Unlike much of the Caribbean region, Aruba has a dry climate and an arid, cactus-strewn landscape. This climate has helped tourism as visitors to the island can reliably expect warm, sunny weather. It has a land area of 179 km2 (69.1 sq mi) and is densely populated, with a total of 102,484 inhabitants at the 2010 Census. It lies outside the hurricane belt. When we were in Curacau 2014 we took a daytrip to Aruba, rented a car and easily covered the whole island Aruba became the 81st country I visited.. Here are some pictures from the visit.

Click on the picture to have a larger version.

On the way towards the northerly point of the island
Nice little church
Various interesting cactus plants
Beach at the most sourtherly part of the island
We drove back towards the north and found this lovely beach where we relaxed for some hours, snorkling and bathing

<- Back to the index